Laws & Safety

Texas Hunting Regulations Overview

Texas Hunting Regulations Overview

Hunting Regulations Overview Valid Sep. 1, 2019 through Aug. 31, 2020. Hunting License A hunting license is required of any person, regardless of age, who hunts any animal, bird, frog or turtle in Texas (except furbearers, if the hunter possesses a trapper's license.) See Hunting Licenses and Permits. No license is required for nuisance fur-bearing animals, depredating hogs or coyotes. Non-residents under 17 years of age may purchase and hunt with the Youth Hunting License. Closed Season For any species, the period of time, if any, when hunting that species is not permitted. Hunter Orange No hunter orange is not required while hunting...

Read more →


Hunting Migratory Game Bird Texas General Rules

Hunting Migratory Game Bird Texas General Rules

Migratory Game Bird Texas General Rules Valid Sep. 1, 2019 through Aug. 31, 2020. Unlawful Activities It is UNLAWFUL to: hunt migratory birds with the aid of bait, or on or over any baited area; hunt over any baited area until 10 days after all baiting materials have been removed and a game warden has confirmed removal of baiting materials; place or allow the placement of bait on or adjacent to any area where migratory game birds could be attracted for the purpose of hunting migratory game birds by any person; hunt waterfowl or cranes over manipulated planted millet in...

Read more →


Texas General Regulations for Alligator

Texas General Regulations for Alligator

General Regulations for Alligator Feeding Alligators Except when engaged in hunting, it is against the law to intentionally feed a free-ranging alligator. Required License Alligators may be taken under any resident or non-resident hunting license (except for a non-resident spring turkey license and a non-resident banded bird hunting license). Lawful Hunting Hours One-half hour before sunrise to sunset. Between sunset and one-half hour before sunrise, no person shall set any baited line capable of taking an alligator, or remove an alligator from a line set. CITES Tags Required in both “Core” and “Non-core” counties and are issued by the department....

Read more →


Gun Laws

Gun Laws

MAKE NO MISTAKE ABOUT IT! “THERE OUGHT TO BE A LAW ...” (AND THERE IS)  You must be 18 years old to purchase long guns (rifles and shotguns) and 21 years old to purchase handguns.  You must be 18 to purchase rifle or shotgun ammunition and 21 to purchase handgun ammunition.  It is illegal for certain categories of people to ship, transport, receive or possess firearms. These categories include any person:  under indictment for, or convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.  who is a fugitive.  who is an unlawful user or addicted to any...

Read more →